加拿大的暴雨:如何应对

汽车保险维持

暴雨时的降雨速度可能超过32 km/h。*

暴雨如果引发了洪水,会造成最严重的破坏(当地面冻结或由于之前的暴风雨或春天冰雪融化而被水浸透时最有可能发生这种情况)。但是,即使未引发洪水,暴雨仍会对您的房屋和爱车造成严重的破坏。下面的提示可指导您保护自己的财产。

暴雨来临之前,您应做哪些准备工作?

预防您家中的损失要从常年的定期维护开始,以便发现和修复渗漏。下面的一些做法可以提供帮助:

保持檐沟和落水管清洁。 每年春季和秋季将落叶、小树枝和其他杂物从檐沟和落水管中清除。这可以防止堵塞,避免屋顶因溢水而受损。为了减少杂物的集聚,可安装排水沟盖板,并随时修剪附近的树木。

确保排水通畅。 这里的关键在于使水流到远离您房屋的地方。如果您注意到檐沟中有积水,请调整其坡度,使其平缓地向落水管倾斜,以利于排水。此外,也应确保落水管的底部向远离您房屋的方向弯折。这将有助于防止水蓄积在房屋地基处或渗入地下室。

对屋面进行维修保养,使其保持良好状态。 沥青瓦屋面在加拿大的使用寿命约为15至30年。如果您认为屋面的预期使用寿命可能已临近终结,可寻求屋顶盖瓦工的帮助。检查是否有松动或受损的瓦板,并仔细寻找水渗入屋内的迹象。这些迹象包括墙壁上出现水渍、起泡和裂缝,以及天花板变形。如果是时候更换屋面了,可以考虑同时对屋顶板进行密封。这项额外措施针对风雨提供了进一步的保护。

保护房屋的内部。 对地下室墙进行密封和防水处理有助于预防渗流。确保您的火炉、热水器和配电板安装在地平面以上,并在污水管存水弯中安装止回阀,以防止洪水溢出流入屋内。

将贵重物品存放在安全而干燥的位置。 如果您要将贵重财物存放在地板下的狭小空间或地下室内,应使其远离地板,以免在发生洪水时受损。如果您正在考虑安装保险箱,请选择具有防水功能的保险箱。如果您的保险箱不具有防水功能,请将其抬高至不会受到洪水侵袭的高度。

保护您的爱车。 水可能会对您的爱车造成严重破坏,一方面影响其机械性能,另一方面还会使其外观受损而不利于转售。停车时请确保您爱车的车窗已完全关闭。同时应使车门和车窗密封条保持清洁,防风雨条受损往往是漏水的根源。

暴雨中可以做什么?

在家中:暴雨天气最好的做法是待在室内,即便仅仅是为了让自己保持干燥和舒适。这是阅读以及全家人玩游戏的绝佳时刻。如果您听到室外有雷声,可以考虑拔掉电视、电脑和游戏机的插头,因为雷击可能会在电源线中产生破坏性的电涌。

在车内:尽可能避免在暴雨天气驾驶车辆。如果您在开车时遭遇了暴雨,请加倍小心谨慎。慢速行驶,并与前车保持足够的距离。使用挡风玻璃雨刮器和除雾器来提升能见度,并确保大灯已打开。如果您感到不安全,请将车停靠在路边,但应避免急刹车(逐步降低车速并停车)。设法避开积水,因为较深的水坑可能会导致您失去对车辆的控制,而任何渗入车内的水都可能导致发动机和电气系统的严重问题。

暴雨结束后应该做些什么?

在家中:暴风雨过后检查其造成的后果,这也正是探查房屋各处维护问题的绝佳时机。从地下室开始对您的房屋进行全面检查,看是否有任何上述的渗水迹象。

在车内:如果您在暴雨后难以启动车辆,或者仪表板的警示灯亮起,这些都可能是发动机或燃油系统进水的迹象。您应咨询合格的机修工以确定是否发生了这种情况。在此期间,请勿尝试启动车辆,因为这可能会使已经遭受的损坏进一步加剧。应尽快将车内的水排出。您可以使用湿式/干式真空泵或干净的毛巾来实现这一目的。为了防止发霉或产生臭气,请将您的爱车停在受保护的区域,并打开车窗以促进车内空气流通。

正准备申报保险理赔,或只是想寻找暴雨后的解决方案?我们随时为您提供咨询服务。

您可以致电1-866-848-9744(每周7天、每天24小时开通)联系道明保险理赔顾问获得帮助。取决于具体情况以及您保单的承保范围,我们可能会派遣紧急服务人员以提供旨在减少进一步损失并保障您安全的解决方案。

道明保险客户咨询中心也能解答您有关保险承保范围的疑问。如果您是TD MyInsurance保单管理现有客户,请点击此处登录,并安全地与我们的顾问进行聊天。

您也可以致电1-877-777-7136联系我们,工作时间:星期一至星期五上午8点至下午8点,星期六上午9点至下午4点


*天气频道。
https://weather.com/en-GB/unitedkingdom/weather/news/ten-stunning-facts-about-rain-to-pour-over-surprising-interesting-weather.

Heavy rain in Canada: What you can do

In heavy rain, drops can travel faster than 32 km/h.*

Heavy rain causes the most damage when it leads to flooding (this is most likely to happen when the ground is frozen or soaked from previous storms or the spring thaw). But even without flooding, heavy rain can still cause serious damage to your home and car. Follow the tips below for guidance on how to protect your property.

What should you do before there’s heavy rain?

In your home, preventing damage starts with regular year-round maintenance to detect and fix leaks. Here are some things that can help:

Keep your eavestroughs and downspouts clean. Each spring and fall, clear leaves, twigs and other debris from your eavestroughs and downspouts. This prevents clogs that can cause water to back up and damage your roof. To reduce the amount of debris that collects, install gutter covers and keep nearby trees trimmed back.

Make sure water drains properly. The trick here is to keep water flowing away from your house. If you notice water pooling in your eavestroughs, adjust them to slope gently towards the downspout for draining. Also, make sure the bottom of the downspout is angled away from your house. This will help stop water from accumulating at the foundation or entering the basement.

Keep your roof in good repair. An asphalt-shingle roof in Canada can last anywhere from 15 to 30 years. Call in a roofer if you think your roof might be near the end of its life expectancy. Check for loose or damaged shingles, and watch for signs that water is leaking into your home. These signs include water stains, bubbles and cracks in walls, and warps in the ceiling. If it’s time to replace your roof, consider having your roof deck sealed at the same time. This extra step provides additional protection against wind and water.

Protect the inside of your home. Sealing and waterproofing basement walls can help to prevent seepage. Make sure your furnace, water heater and electric panel are mounted above floor level – and put check valves in the sewer traps to keep floodwater from backing up into your home.

Store valuables in a safe and dry place. If you keep valuable property in a crawlspace or basement, store it off the floor so that it’s protected in case of a flood. If you’re thinking about installing a safe, choose one that’s waterproof. If you have a safe that isn’t waterproof, raise it to a level that will protect it from floodwaters.

Protect your car. Water can cause serious damage to your car, both mechanically and in terms of its appearance for resale. Make sure your car windows are fully closed when you park. And keep your door and window seals clean — damaged weather stripping is a common cause of leaks.

What can you do during heavy rain?

At home: It’s best to stay indoors during a rainstorm, if only to keep yourself dry and comfortable. This is a great time for books and family games. If you hear thunder outside, consider unplugging your TV, computers and gaming gear, as a lightning strike could cause a damaging surge of electricity in the power lines.

In your car: If you can, try to avoid driving in heavy rain. If you do find yourself caught in a rainstorm, use extra caution. Drive slowly, leaving plenty of distance between you and the car ahead. Use your windshield wipers and defroster to improve visibility, and make sure your full headlights are on. Pull over if you feel unsafe, but avoid heavy braking (slow and stop gradually).Try to steer around standing water, as deep puddles could cause you to lose control of your vehicle, and any water that enters the car could lead to serious problems with your engine and electrical systems.

What should you do after heavy rain?

At home: The aftermath of a storm gives you the perfect opportunity to diagnose maintenance problems around your home. Check your house from the basement up to see if there are any signs of water leaks as described above.

In your car: If you have difficulty starting your car or if your dashboard warning lights turn on after a heavy rainstorm, these might be signs that water has gotten into your engine or fuel system. To determine if this has happened, you’ll need to consult a qualified mechanic. In the meantime, do not try to start your car, as this could worsen any damage that’s occurred. Any water in your car’s interior should be removed as soon as possible. Use a wet/dry vacuum or clean towels for this purpose. To prevent mold and bad odors from developing, park your car in a protected area and open the windows to get air circulating inside.

Readying an insurance claim or just looking for solutions following heavy rain? We’re ready to talk to you.

You can reach one of our helpful TD Insurance Claims Advisors by dialing 1-866-848-9744, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Depending on the circumstances and subject to your policy's coverage, we may be able to dispatch emergency services to provide solutions to mitigate further damage and put your safety first.

Our TD Insurance Customer Advice Centers are also available to answer your insurance coverage questions. For existing TD MyInsurance customers, click here to login and chat securely with one of our Advisors.

Alternatively, you can call us at 1-877-777-7136, Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.


*The Weather Channel.
https://weather.com/en-GB/unitedkingdom/weather/news/ten-stunning-facts-about-rain-to-pour-over-surprising-interesting-weather.